Remembering the 2007 Historic Division

As I go back over my memories from 2007, several stand out. Playing the Telemann Concerto on baroque trumpet with the Bach Sinfonia. Bassano’s “Susanne ung jour” at the “Centenary Classics” series in Richmond, Virginia. Playing a recital on a mixed collection of historic instruments at George Mason University. Traveling with the U.S. Navy Band Brass Quartet to Houston, Texas, to play for former President George H. W. Bush (I got to shake his hand!).

In addition, I once again organized a baroque trumpet competition–the 2007 Historic Division of the National Trumpet Competition. Here is the write up of that competition that I submitted to the Historic Brass Society:

From March 15 to 18, 2007, the National Trumpet Competition took place at George Mason University. Within this competition, the Historic Division held a competition for baroque trumpet playing. There were three age-based categories for playing the baroque trumpet allowing the use of finger holes, and one open-aged category for playing the baroque trumpet without the use of any finger holes. In addition, there was a baroque trumpet ensemble competition. Twenty-three finalists were chosen, based on a taped round, for the live competition.

Niklas Eklund, who was a featured guest artist of the National Trumpet Competition, headed the judging panel. Mr. Eklund gave an informative master class (jointly with Jens Lindemann) on Friday morning. Several members of a baroque trumpet ensemble in The U. S. Army’s Old Guard Fife and Drum Corps, based out of Ft. Myer, Virginia, played (admirably) for Mr. Eklund during this master class. Later in the day, Mr. Eklund played modern trumpet with Jim Lebens in a performance of Eric Ewazen’s Concerto for Trumpet and Trombone. In the evening, Mr. Eklund offered a lecture recital that featured internationally renowned soprano Jennifer Casey Cabot. John O’Brien of Eastern Carolina University accompanied on his own continuo organ. They performed Handel’s “Let the bright seraphim” and “Eternal source of light divine.” In addition, Mr. Eklund performed with Stanley Curtis on portions of an anonymous Sinfonia a due Trombe.

On Saturday, the finals for the competition took place. The judging panel was as follows: Niklas Eklund, Barry Bauguess, nationally recognized baroque trumpet artist and proprietor of The Baroque Trumpet Shop, Ray Burkhart of Claremont Graduate University, Robert Civiletti, former first prize winner at the Historic Division, Dr. Thomas Huener of Eastern Carolina University, Dr. Elisa Koehler, of Goucher College, and Dr. Stanley Curtis of George Mason University and a member of the U. S. Navy Band.

This year, solo competitors had to play two solos with organ accompaniment. Most of these competitors also had to perform a trumpet obbligato aria with soprano. Melissa Coombs, a doctoral student at the University of Maryland, sang three different arias for thirteen competitors (all with two day’s notice!).

There was only one finalist for the Shore Award solo category (up to age 18); the required pieces were the H. Purcell Sonata in D Major and the G. Torelli Concerto in D Major (E. Roger—no “G” number). Dominic Favia, a thirteen year-old from Vienna, Virginia received the $200 gift certificate from Barry Bauguess’ The Baroque Trumpet Shop.

There were six finalists for the Fantini Award solo category (from age 19 to 28). Repertory for this round included a choice of one of the two G. B. Viviani sonatas, the Sonata in D Major (G. 1) by G. Torelli, and Handel’s “Eternal Source.” David Wharton, a student at Oberlin Conservatory won the $300 gift certificate from The Baroque Trumpet Shop. Don Johnson III, a student at the University of Louisville, won the Bendinelli Award ($100 anonymous cash prize).

The Sonata a 4 of P. J. Vejvanovsky, the Concerto in D Major by J. F. Fasch, and the Cantata 51 by Bach were all required for the four finalists of the Reiche (29 and older) category. Nicholas Althouse, a graduate student at the University of North Texas won the prize—which was a Naumann Baroque Trumpet.

Three finalists competed in the new “Fray Antoni Martín I Coll” Award category (no age limit, no finger-holes allowed). They were required to play one of the eight sonatas of G. Fantini, the H. I. F. Biber Sonata No. 4 in C Major, and Handel’s “Let the bright seraphim.”  The winner was Nathaniel Cox, a student at Oberlin Conservatory, who was awarded a baroque trumpet made by Francisco Pérez of Alicante, Spain. Second Prize was awarded to both Dr. Chris Campbell (who was offered tuition to the International Trumpet Making Workshop—started by Robert Barclay and continued to be taught also by Richard Seraphinoff and Michael Munkwitz) and Justin Bland, a student at the University of Maryland (who was offered a week’s tuition at the Baroque Performance Institute at Oberlin).

Finally, the ensemble category featured two finalist groups: a student group from the University of North Texas (John Cord, Oscar Passley, and James Lind) and the Kentucky Baroque Trumpets (Don Johnson, Sr., Don Johnson III, Wayne Collier, Joseph Van Fleet, and John Bryant on timpani). Both groups were allowed to perform their own repertoire. The Kentucky Baroque Trumpets were awarded the first prize (no monetary award).

Here are some photos of the competition!





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.