More NTC Historic Division

On March  19, 2005, I hosted the second baroque trumpet division of the National Trumpet Competition. Here are some photos and a write-up that I submitted to the Historic Brass Society Newsletter about what happened:

Crispian Steele-Perkins was the Honorary Chairman. Mr. Steele-Perkins presented a recital on many different historic trumpets, and he conducted a clinic, in which he worked with several students on various technical concepts.

Winners of three sub-categories were as follows:

  • The high-school age category (up to age 18) known as the “Shore Award,” was won by Kevin Abel. He won a $250 cash prize. He played the 2nd etude from “25 Études Caractéristiques” by F. G. A. Dauverné from his Methode pour la Trompete (without fingerholes) and J. Clarke’s Suite of Ayres for the Theatre (McNaughtan, 1990).
  • Logan Place won an open-age category of medium difficulty called the “Fantini Award.” He won a $500 shopping spree at Barry Bauguess’ Baroque Trumpet Shop by playing Canciónes de Clarines , Movements I and II (these movements without fingerholes), and G. F. Handel’s [?] Suite in D Major.
  • And finally Nicholas Harvey won the “Reiche Award,” which was open to all ages and presented the greatest technical difficulties. He won a Naumann Baroque Trumpet, valued at nearly $2000, sponsored by Andrew Naumann, by playing Reiche’s Abblasen Fanfare (sans fingerholes) and G. P. Telemann’s Concerto in D Major.

After a recorded round, ten participants went on to the live round. They included Kevin Abel, who was the only finalist in the Shore Award; Justin Bland, Amy Hock, Don Johnson III, and Jamie Davis as finalists for the Fantini Award; and Kathryn James, Jamie Davis, Dave Maller and Don Johnson, Jr. as finalists for the Reiche Award. Dr. Joel Greenberger was accepted into the finals but could not attend. (I

ncidentally, Don Johnson, Jr. won the “Pro Am” division of the NTC this year by playing J. B. Arban’s Norma Variations on an echo cornet)

Crispian Steele-Perkins was the Honorary Chair for judging the competition. Other judges were, Stanley Curtis, chair, Barry Bauguess, Dr. Elisa Koehler and Dr. David Baum.

Sponsors included Naumann Trumpets, who sponsored the Historic Division; The Baroque Trumpet Shop, which sponsored the Fantini Award; Maller Brass, which sponsored Crispian Steele-Perkin’s appearance; and Crown Music Press, which sponsored Crispian Steele-Perkin’s accompanist and for Crispian Steele-Perkin’s appearance.

Adam Pearl of Peabody Conservatory was the accompanist. He played a continuo organ donated for this competition by Webb Wiggins.

No tags for this post.

Chairing the NTC Historic Division

Around 2003 and 2004, I became much more oriented to participating in academia while I was in the U.S. Navy Band. In 2003, I was invited as a finalist for a teaching position at the University of North Texas, a position which I didn’t win, but the process gave me a lot of great insight into what I needed to be working on. I was actually glad this did not work out, because, as it turns out, the Navy Band provided many more life-time benefits for my family and me than would have been possible otherwise. After the UNT interview, I was asked to start teaching as an adjunct professor at George Mason University, and, for a short while, at Catholic University of America.

I also began a six-year collaboration with the National Trumpet Competition, as I became the chair of the Historic Division. This division was a competition for baroque trumpet soloists, baroque trumpet ensembles and eventually other historic instruments related to the trumpet. In the first year of the Historic Division, I gave a recital on baroque trumpet, and we had seven competitors working with continuo organist Webb Wiggins. The judges were Thom Freas, David Baum, Bryan Goff and Elisa Koehler. These were the categories and sponsors:

The Naumann Trumpets Baroque Trumpet Division
Open Age Group (23 and up, no students); Naumann Baroque Trumpet
College Age Group (18 to 28, college students); $500 Maller Baroque Trumpet Award
High School Age Group (up to 18); $250 NTC Award

All winners will also receive various complimentary memberships and publications from the Historic Brass Society.

I really enjoyed putting this competition together! Here are some photos (all of these photos were taken by Vera Hørven):

No tags for this post.